What is the Qualifications and Credit Framework?


what_is_qcf_1The Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) is the national credit transfer system for education qualification in England, Northern Ireland and Wales. The QCF replaces the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which closed for accreditations at the end of 2010.


Every unit and qualification in the new framework has a credit value (where one credit represents 10 hours of learning time). There are three different sizes of qualification:

  • awards (1 to 12 credits)
  • certificates (13 to 36 credits)
  • diplomas (37 credits or more)

In addition, each qualification has a level of difficulty from Entry level at the bottom to Level 8 at the top.

The title of each qualification within this framework contains details of the size (award/certificate/diploma), level of difficulty (Entry to Level 8) and general content of the qualification.



Post Tagged with ,

About Peter Boyle

Comments are closed.